Hit and Run Virginia
If you face charges for hit and run Virginia, you need the best defense available to you. Learn about Virginia’s hit and run laws and how attorney Jay P. Mykytiuk can help defend your freedom.
For consultation on a Virginia hit and run driving offense, call (202) 630-1522 today!
Charged with Hit and Run Virginia?
If you are involved in an accident in Virginia, it is imperative that you remain at the scene to exchange information, call emergency services, and to try and aid any injured victims. Leaving the scene of an accident, known as a hit and run, is a serious criminal offense in Virginia. Depending on the severity of the offense, you could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony and face a myriad of repercussions, from fines to a lengthy prison term.
If you have been charged with hit and run Virginia, it is important that you have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. A conviction on your criminal record could have lifelong impacts outside of the immediate punishments, and you need a dedicated legal advocate to protect your rights at every turn.
Attorney Jay Mykytiuk of Scrofano Law has practiced in Virginia for over a decade and has successfully handled countless hit and run charges. Whether you’re facing felony or misdemeanor hit and run charges, he has the expertise to craft a strong defense on your behalf and give you the best chance at winning your case so you can move on from this frightening experience.
Virginia Hit and Run Statute
In Virginia, leaving the scene of an accident, typically described as “hit and run”, is a serious crime that generally emerges out of the failure to stop, offer help, and provide identifying information about oneself. Despite the reason for the accident, Virginia law mandates specific actions to be taken. Don’t be mistaken — being a passenger does not mean you do not need to do anything. Virginia law enforces these responsibilities on both drivers and passengers.
Virginia Code § 46.2-894 states that “The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident in which a person is killed or injured or in which an attended vehicle or other attended property is damaged shall immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident as possible without obstructing traffic” and report the accident to the necessary authorities.
Both the responsibilities and charges for leaving the scene of an accident depend on whether you were behind the wheel or a passenger, whether the accident involved an unattended or attended vehicle, the amount of property damaged, and whether the accident led to injury or death of a pedestrian or other driver. Depending on the details of the accident, your hit and run might be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, with possible penalties including fines, jail/prison time, and a suspension of your driver’s license.
Talk to a criminal defense expert today. Call (202) 630-1522 or contact us right away.
Misdemeanor vs Felony Hit and Run Virginia
There are a few different types of charges that you could face; what charge you receive depends on the specific circumstances of your accident.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident – Driver (Felony)
If the accident caused an injury, death, or more than $1,000 in property damage, you could be charged with a Class 5 felony. This is the most severe charge you can receive. If convicted of a Class 5 felony in Virginia, you could face up to 10 years in prison and a $2,500 fine.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident – Driver (Misdemeanor)
If the accident did not cause an injury or death, nor did it result in more than $1,000 in property damage, you could be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. An accident with an unattended vehicle or other property that causes more than $250 in property damage will also result in a charge of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If you are convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor, you could face up to 12 months in prison and a fine of $2,500.
If your accident involves an unattended vehicle or other property and did not cause more than $250 in property damage, you could be charged with a Class 4 misdemeanor. If you are convicted of a Class 4 misdemeanor, you could be fined up to $250.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident – Passenger (Felony)
Even if you were not driving, leaving the scene of an accident as a passenger could cost you. If the accident caused an injury or death, and you as the passenger failed to alert emergency services, you could be charged with a Class 6 felony. If you are convicted of a Class 6 felony, you could face up to 5 years in prison and a $2,500 fine.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident – Passenger (Misdemeanor)
In contrast to hit and run laws for drivers, if an accident does not result in injury or death, a passenger cannot be charged with a felony. Even if there was severe property damage, a passenger can only be charged with a misdemeanor.
If the other vehicle in the accident was attended, a passenger could be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the vehicle was unattended but the accident caused more than $250 in property damage, a passenger could be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor as well. If you are convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor, you could face up to 12 months in prison and a fine of $2,500.
If the vehicle was unattended and the property damage was less than $250, a passenger could be charged with a Class 4 misdemeanor. If you are convicted of a Class 4 misdemeanor, you could be fined up to $250.
The above charges should never be taken lightly. To prevent or limit the serious consequences outlined above, you must contact an experienced Virginia criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. When you begin working with Jay P. Mykytiuk of Scrofano Law, he will hear your side of the story and establish a strong defense strategy.
Looking for a Virginia hit and run Defense Attorney? Contact Jay P. Mykytiuk Trial Attorney now!
Hit and Run Virginia License Suspension Laws
In addition to criminal punishments, the court may also suspend your license in certain situations. Typically, a hit and run conviction will result in your license being suspended for up to 6 months. If someone was injured in the accident or you were driving on a suspended license, the punishments could be even more severe.
If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), a hit and run conviction is typically considered a “serious driving violation.” If you are convicted of a serious driving violation twice in a three-year span, your CDL could be suspended for 60 days. If you are convicted of a third serious driving violation in that three-year span, your CDL could be suspended for 120 days.
Losing your CDL could severely impact your job and your life. If you hold a CDL and face a serious moving violation charge, like Virginia reckless driving, please immediately contact an attorney. Criminal defense attorney Jay P. Mykytiuk is prepared to fight for your right to drive.
Contact a Virginia Hit and Run Law Firm Today
As you can see, the State of Virginia treats hit and run incidents extremely seriously. The charges specified above are worst-case scenarios, however, and attorney Jay P. Mykytiuk will work on your behalf to mitigate the effects of a hit and run charge as much as possible.
If your lawyer can argue that the penalties for a hit and run are inappropriate for your situation, you might end up with a substantially decreased sentence. The following are a few of the most typical mitigating elements, but keep in mind that your sentence is still up to the discretion of the judge and the factors of your unique situation:
- Injury: Virginia Code § 46.2-894 establishes a unique arrangement for injured drivers. You might have the ability to show that your injuries prevented you from carrying out the responsibilities described above and that you reported the mishap as quickly as you were able to. If you and your attorney can prove that the mishap impaired your judgment, or that you were otherwise indisposed by a medical emergency, the court might dismiss your charges.
- Inaccurate treatment: Leaving the scene of a mishap is a crime in Virginia. That implies that the authorities have an obligation to follow a particular criminal procedure in hit and run cases. You and your attorney should check to make sure that warrants and other aspects of law enforcement procedures were properly handled. If they weren’t, your attorney might be able to argue that for your charges to be dropped on procedural premises.
- You weren’t the driver: While it might seem obvious, the state needs to be able to prove that you were associated with the accident. If you have proof showing that you were not the driver, you must bring it to your attorney’s attention immediately to mount a strong defense. If this is the case, the court will want to know who was driving your vehicle at the time of the mishap and why they were driving it. Being able to show that your vehicle was stolen or that you were someplace else at the time might help establish a defense that can lead to your charges being dropped.
- Classes and programs: Depending upon the details of your accident, your attorney may advise you to take specific classes or programs prior to your court date. The idea here is to show that you are dedicated to being a more responsible driver without the intervention of the justice system. In many cases, this solution can lead to reduced charges.
In order to explore the above options and develop a defense strategy for your particular case, you should contact an attorney right away. Jay P. Mykytiuk is a trial attorney with significant experience defending hit and run cases both in court and in the investigation stage. If you or someone you know receives a letter from the MPD Hit and Run Investigations Unit or is arrested for leaving after colliding (hit and run), please contact Jay P. Mykytiuk today for a full case evaluation.